The United States offers a pathway to permanent residency for foreign professionals through Employment-Based (EB) immigrant visa categories. These categories are tailored to individuals with exceptional skills, education, or work experience. Understanding the nuances of each category is crucial for determining eligibility and successfully navigating the application process. Let’s explore the key EB categories in detail:

EB-1 Employment-based First Preference

The EB-1 category is designed for high-performing professionals with extraordinary abilities in fields such as sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics. It also includes outstanding professors or researchers and multinational executives or managers. Subcategories within EB-1 include:

  • EB-1A: Extraordinary abilities
  • EB-1B or EB1OR: Outstanding professors and researchers
  • EB-1C: Multinational managers or executives

Notably, the EB-1 preference category does not require a labor certification, streamlining the application process.

EB-2 Employment-based Second Preference

The EB-2 category targets foreign professionals with advanced degrees or exceptional abilities in arts, sciences, or business. This category includes:

  • Advanced Degree: Professionals with advanced degrees
  • Exceptional Ability: Individuals with exceptional skills in their respective fields

However, a labor certification is needed for all EB-2 preference categories, with certain exceptions.

EB-3 Employment-based Third Preference

The EB-3 category accommodates skilled workers, professionals, and other workers. This includes:

  • Skilled Workers: Individuals with specific skills
  • Professionals: Those with a bachelor’s degree or equivalent
  • Unskilled Workers (Other Workers): Positions that require less than two years of training or experience

All EB-3 preference categories require a labor certification, demonstrating the need for foreign workers.

EB-4 Employment-based Fourth Preference

The EB-4 category, known as the “special immigrants” category, encompasses a diverse range of individuals:

  • Certain religious workers
  • Retired employees of international organizations
  • Certain employees of the U.S. government abroad, among others

Unlike previous categories, EB-4 doesn’t require a labor certification.

EB-5 Employment-based Fifth Preference

The EB-5 category is tailored for business investors willing to invest a substantial sum in a new commercial enterprise, creating at least 10 full-time jobs for U.S. workers. Similar to EB-4, the EB-5 category does not necessitate a labor certification.

Understanding the intricacies of each EB category is crucial for foreign professionals aspiring to secure permanent residency in the United States. From extraordinary abilities to business investments, the EB visa options offer diverse avenues for individuals with unique qualifications. Ensure a smooth journey by exploring your eligibility and following the specific requirements of the chosen EB category.


Is my profession considered “Schedule A” for a Green Card?

Schedule a Consultation with an Immigration Lawyer

Additional Outside Resources

Subscribe to Our Resources Blog

Schedule a Consultation with an Immigration Lawyer

We Can Help!

You may have questions regarding U.S. immigration laws and visas. We invite you to reach out to our team at Richards and Jurusik for detailed guidance and assistance. Our goal is to provide you with the most accurate and up-to-date information to make your immigration process smoother and less stressful. The immigration lawyers at Richards and Jurusik have decades of experience helping people to work and live in the United States. Read some of our hundreds of 5-star client reviews! Contact us today for an assessment of your legal situation.

Contact Us

Similar Posts